Professional Development Day 2017

From 23 September 2017 09:00 until 23 September 2017 17:00

Date: Saturday, 23 September 2017
Time: 9:00 to 17:00, followed by drinks and light snacks
Location: Conference Centre De Eenhoorn, Barchman Wuytierslaan 2, 3818 LH Amersfoort (directly opposite the Amersfoort NS station)

Participants will be eligible to receive 5.5 PE points.

Fees & Registration
Early-bird registration for SENSE members only (until midnight 9 August): €70
Standard registration for SENSE members, members of an affiliated organization*, and students** (from 10 August): €95
Standard registration for non-members: €145
(Click register button above)

*Current members of MET, ITI, and SfEP (use appropriate discount code)
**Students must provide evidence that they are currently enrolled in an accredited training programme (e.g. a letter from their university, valid student ID card (use appropriate discount code)

With a wide variety of breakout sessions, two plenary presentations, a panel discussion to round off the day, and a fresh new venue, the Professional Development Day has something for everyone.
Full details regarding the programme will be available nearer the event, as will the chance to state your preferences for the breakout sessions. But for now, to whet your appetite, here is a list of confirmed speakers:
Plenary session 1: Sally Hill on ‘Networking made easy’
Plenary session 2: Stephen Johnston on ‘Plain English – increasing clarity or dumbing things down?’
Panel discussion: Professionals on the Podium

Breakout sessions:
Frans Kooymans on ‘It’s simple to Excel at bookkeeping!’
John Linnegar on ‘It needs only a light edit: Negotiating your way between different levels of editing’
Ellen Singer on ‘How the tone of voice of an email influences the reader, and the result’
Theresa Truax-Gischler on ‘Social media use – What’s in it for me?’
Jenny Zonneveld on ‘Stroke your CAT tool into higher productivity’

For more information, contact Robert Coupe (PDD Committee Chair) at  

We look forward to seeing you on 23 September!
The PDD Committee:
Robert Coupe
John Linnegar
Curtis Barrett